Speaking of MLK Day, the illustrious mayor-dictator of Newray nagin.jpeg Orleans made some idiot comments during MLK festivities today that will no doubt make the national headlines and subject us to more criticism for our dysfunctionality. According to nola.com, Nagin said:

Surely God is mad at America. He sent us hurricane after hurricane after hurricane, and it’s destroyed and put stress on this country. . . . Surely he doesn’t approve of us being in Iraq under false pretenses. But surely he is upset at black America also. We’re not taking care of ourselves.

He also made these comments, which I find offensive for both their racial and grammatical insensitivity:

We ask black people … It’s time for us to come together. It’s time for us to rebuild New Orleans — the one that should be a chocolate New Orleans. . . . . This city will be a majority African American city. It’s the way God wants it to be. You can’t have New Orleans no other way. It wouldn’t be New Orleans.

Sure, I like chocolate, but I like lots of flavors of ice cream. And by extension, I prefer to live in a racially diverse area. Call me a Neapolitan Metropolitan.

If anyone out there knows any federal judges, please beg them to order Governor Blanco to reschedule the indefinitely delayed elections in this city. Nagin’s term expires at the end of April, but he is expected to continue as mayor-dictator indefinitely. No new date for elections has been set.

I voted for Nagin twice: once in a crowded primary and again in the general election. And assuming elections are ever rescheduled, I haven’t decided whether I’ll be voting for a mayor who’s chocolate or vanilla. But I do know the flavor we’ve got right now has got to go. We can’t have New Orleans no other way.

